Early last month, Texas changed its laws concerning texting and driving. Beginning Sept. 1, 2017, drivers who are caught texting while driving can be fined anywhere from $25 to $99 for a first-time offense and up to $200 for a repeat offense. The fines and punishments are significantly increased if texting drivers are involved in accidents that injure or kill others.
The Federal Communications Commission says that “an alarming number of traffic accidents are linked to driving while distracted, including use of mobile devices while driving, resulting in injury and loss of life.” Sending or reading text messages while you’re behind the wheel of a moving vehicle is dangerous because:
- Vehicles can travel the length of a football field in five seconds. Sending or reading a text generally takes around five seconds. Vehicles that are traveling 55 mph will travel the length of a football field during that time.
- Any non-driving activity you engage in increases your risk of crashing. Multi-tasking while driving is extremely dangerous. Driving requires your full concentration and attention every time you get behind the wheel.
The Texas auto accident lawyers at Daniel Stark Injury Lawyers have helped many crash victims get compensation after they were hurt by other people’s negligence, and we know that texting and driving plays a major role in many collisions throughout the Lone Star State. It’s our goal to be there for people who are hurt through no fault of their own, and our consultations are always free.
October 3rd, 2017|